Belmont Abbey Hosts Annual Awards Reception

Belmont Abbey Hosts Annual Awards Reception

BELMONT, N.C. -- The Belmont Abbey Athletics Department celebrated success on Monday night, honoring over 100 student-athletes at its annual Athletics awards ceremony presented by Publix. The event took place inside the Wheeler Center.

Individual awards were given out by each team, including the Impact Player, Crusader and Spirit of the Abbey. Academic all-conference recipients were honored as were several league awardwinners.

In addition, Athletic Department Awards were presented. Luke Glunt (wrestling) and Claire Doyle (softball) won the Comeback Athlete of the Year, while Maria Kuhlman (women's basketball) and Brian Long (men's volleyball) won Michael Nalls Awards as the top freshmen. The Larry Reidy Service Award was given to Brittany Oehlhof women's volleyball team for her work with the Athletic Communications Office on social media, while Mark Trompeter (men's Soccer) won the Father Raphael Bridge Award for highest overall GPA.

Lacrosse players swept the Marty Thomas Awards as the top seniors were Adam Wiedemann and Rebecca Luca. Gavin Schaffer (men's volleyball) repeated as the male Father Martin "Pop" Hayes Award for embodying the Belmont Abbey College spirit, while Sarah Kenney of the women's volleyball team took the female honor.

For a complete list of team award winners, click here.